San Martin de Porres : Peru’s Black Saint

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He is there in La Iglesia de Santo Domingo and the Convento Santo Domingo. He shares his miracles with the first woman to be made a saint and another.  During the tour guide’s talk, I thought about how long it took the Roman Catholic Church to canonize him and make him a saint.  Over a hundred years for the man who prayed underneath a staircase, who could not be made a priest because he was of mixed ethnicity; because he was Black. I think about his skull up there, exposed in a small elaborate casket of gold (I’d hope) and glass.

I just wonder.

About latasha1970

What's heard and not heard, obviously seen and made invisible. My thoughts on life, change, and everything that gets blind sighted by trivial issues. It's about being in between space, in between compromises and in between success and failure. This updated version will chronicle my journey to Peru this summer, the preparation involved and what happens once I've set foot on South American soil.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.